B15 Sentra Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Stupid question, but I am new to Nissans. I have a 1.8L GXE and the manual says to use 91 AK or something (Dont have the manual in front of me)...Anti-knock rating.
However, I am pretty confident 87 octane is not a problem, I dont hear any pings...couldn't imagine having to run high grade fual through it.

·
Registered
261 Posts
I don't have a GXE, but I can guarantee that you can easily and safely run 87 octane. Its pretty much the base sentra, so the average joe consumer doesn't want performance out of it, just a cheap reliable daily driver, nissan wouldn't make them pay out the *** for premium.

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
91 AK is 87 octane... running anything more than 87 in a gxe is a waste of money...

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
just so you know, my mom has a gxe, and I used to own a gxe as well.

besides it does not take a rocket scientist to know that nissan recommendation are well founded when you consider that the compression ratio on the qg18de is pretty low, and that it does not have a turbo... why would it need anything better??

·
Registered
431 Posts
i have a gxe and run 87...no problems

·
Registered
948 Posts
87. Our timing isn't easily adjustable, so it's not like you're going to be able to gain power by burning the extra octane in higher grade fuel.

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
JAYDOGG said:
i uise 93. but that is b/c i beat the hell out of it and on top of that i have been getting 30-34 mpg on the highway so what the hell.
I'm not suprise you get 30-34 mpg... with all your mods your car must be pretty efficient (sp?)

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
Octane said:
I'm not suprise you get 30-34 mpg... with all your mods your car must be pretty efficient (sp?)
hell i would probally get more if i had lightweight 15's and tires. i bet the hell out of the car. damn things sees the rev limiter more than tony get some pu$$y.

·
Theory freak learning...
3,920 Posts