B15 Sentra Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I got around to talking with several people via phone. The local import shop in my area says don't do the crank pulleys, underdrive the accessories instead. JWT also recommends that crank underdriving be not done, due to second, third and fourth order harmonics being affected. I did not get a specific example of why or exactly how, mostly because I'm not an engineer either by trade or by education. However, it does seem to coincide with the Dinan article.

Now, on the other hand, Mike Kojima, a fella who knows his way around the SR20DE, says he runs the pulleys in a car that sees road racing time, read full brake/full throttle. A local mustang tuner also likes the pulleys. His contention was that it sits on the harmonic dampener and won't hurt anything. Since our cars don't have a harmonic dampener per se, I'm inferring that the dampening of harmonics is 1. not happening or 2. is happening via another mechanism. The ford guy also mentioned that the belts also act as a vibrational dampener, which may just alleviate the harmonics Dinan talks about.

I think that I'm still going with the pulleys because Mikey likes 'em. Maybe we can crash SE-R.net board and find out which of those fellas has had the pulleys on for a long time, and if they've noticed any premature wear.

If anyone who has detailed experience of the pulleys, or knowledge of automotive engineering, please chuck your 2cents in.

------------------
Waiting for PR CAI, got the Stromung, got the Unorthodox, got a big fat empty "0" in my bank...:)

·
Registered
259 Posts
Thanks for sharing your info, Larry! You can always subscribe to the se-r mailing list and ask them or search the mailing list archives for some info as well.

personally, i doubt i will ever get them. for such a little gain and a bigger risk, i'll pass. i'd rather put that money toward the cams or headers when they come out.

------------------