B15 Sentra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Time Warp
1,141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok since I've joined the ranks of the starving college students, the tranny swap I had planned might not go through. But I just hate the lack of control the auto gives. I'm new to automatics, so can anyone tell me about torque converters? What do they do? Would an almost stock car benefit from having one? How does it feel to drive a car with one on? Or just any info you guys could give me, I'd really appreciate it. Is it worth it??? Dunrite's shop is REALLY close to where I live, so I've been seriously considering that option. Any help or suggestions on this subject would be appreciated. TIA

------------------
Jae
'00 SE w/ some stuff...
Desperately seeking an SOHC VTEC... yes, I'm serious.

·
Registered
297 Posts
yeah you really should get one, get it ASAP. you should get one that is about 1000RPM over stock stall, but you can get one that is even greater but am not sure what the sideeffects would be. 1000 over stock should be good. The torque converter will give better response than the stock one, and if you get a shift-kit custom made to fit your car then your car will shift equally with the 5-speeds. A good price for a custom made torque converter is around 300-400 dollars, and a shift-kit should not cost more than 125. Dont go too crazy with the amount over the stock stall, cuz our cars dont have enough power for a 300RPM stall converter. But if you get one you will see how much harder your tranny shifts, and the added response and acceleration are amazing. I have done this in an auto. 5.0L mustang and it actually dropped almost half a second off the quarter mile e.t. let me know how much you get it for and all the details, like how much the stock stall is. This is probably the best mod for the money for an automatic car. Ok enough my hands are tired.

------------------