B15 Sentra Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2 channel amp hooked up in the trunk bridged to push a 10" sub. I love the way it sounds, except that there are times when I am braking that the sub gets distortion. I am new to car audio, but I am assuming this distortion is just electronic noise...the problem is I don't know why applying the brakes would generate noise. I am trying to wait it out, because I am planning on getting an equalizer or a new HU that will allow me to run preamp outputs to the amp...instead of the speaker level inputs that I have now. I am hoping this will help, but if anyone else has some suggestions...please feel free to help.

Thanks,

·
Bow to your SE GOD
4,702 Posts
Don't mean to sound dumb, or undermine your troubleshooting skills, but are you ABSOLUTLEY positive that the braking is the culprit? I've heard of windshield wipers, turn signals...causing problems, but never brakes!

·
Registered
311 Posts
Weird - I've never heard of the brakes causing a problem either, which is not to say that the brakes aren't the culprit, but that sounds strange to me. Maybe it's an alternator thing from the engine slowing down?

·
Registered
37 Posts
samo said:
Weird - I've never heard of the brakes causing a problem either, which is not to say that the brakes aren't the culprit, but that sounds strange to me. Maybe it's an alternator thing from the engine slowing down?

i agree i think that it is the alternator you might be drawing to much power and your alternator can not take it you just need to upgrade your alternator, that is if it is the alt.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·