B15 Sentra Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was an audio newbie a few months ago but I think I've learned enough about it through these boards and other boards that I can have an intelligent conversation about it now. But I still don't know what it means when it says when an amp or speaker is 2 or 4 ohms. And I don't understand how can you change the ohms? FOr example, an amps specs could say it is X Watts at 2 ohms and Y watts at 4 ohms. How do you change the ohms on an amp?

·
Just 35 more...
2,296 Posts
Speakers are rated in ohms, some smart asses will say "its not a resistor!" but ignore them.

A 4 ohm speaker will have a DC resistance of a little under 4. A dual voice coil 4 ohm speaker will have two voice coils each 4 ohms. If you wire them in series, it'll be 8 ohms, wire them in parallel it'll be 2 ohms.

Now, lets say you have an amp rated at 300 watts x 1 at 2 ohms. If you take your dual voice coil sub, wire the coils in parallel it'll appear to be a 2 ohm sub. Connect this to your amp and each coil will get 150 watts.

Take the same amp, assume its rated at 150 watts x 1 at 4 ohms. Take your single voice coil 4 ohm sub and wire it to the amp. It is now getting 150 watts to the coil.

Basically, if its 300 watts at 2 ohms, and you connect a 2 ohm sub to it, the amp can output 300 watts. If you connect up a 4 ohm load to it, it won't be able to output as much power.

·
Theory freak learning...
3,920 Posts
Yes, the smartass say it's an IMPEDANCE not a resistance :D