B15 Sentra Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Iknowyoulovereadingso..
5,527 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i've been curious as to how bumper covers are actually made. I know the process involves creating a mold and filling it with a substance and letting the substance cure while taking the shape of the mold.

1) how are molds made? what are they made from?

2) what substances are used to make the bumper? is it just plastic or something else?

·
Banned
5,364 Posts
Crash Course in Design, Manufacturing & Production - I do this for a living

Bumper covers are made using a process called injection molding, most likely. They can also be made with rotation molding or blow molding(very unlikely).

To injection mold there needs to be a two part mold (usually more than 2 parts) These two parts are closed together, and melted plastic is injected into the cavity. After about 3 or 4 seconds, the plastic is cool enough for the mold to be "knocked out"

If you look at a plastic part, say for example, the inside of a bumper cover or for simplicity's sake, look at the inside of a plastic lid (im looking at the choco nesquick lid) you will see that the panels of plastic have lines that run across them, and you will also see little circles and if you look hard enough you will find a "nipple"

The plastic lines are the seams where the molds connected. The circles are the knock out points. When the mold is opened The part will stick to the male part and an actuator mechanism will hit the part in several places at the same time and release the part from the mold. That is what leaves those circles there. This will usually occur on the non-cosmetic side.

Finally, if you can find a nipple, or several. That is the point where the injection of molten plastic ocurred. It leaves a nipple because of the retraction of material once it has poured the required amount.