B15 Sentra Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Car Noob
1,826 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My headlight went out, so I got another 9007 bulb. It was a ***** installing it (passenger side), and I guess I didn't install it right (not a good seal). Either way, condensation started building up quickly, and after 2 minutes of testing it out (after install), I noticed a white clouding of the reflectors. it even got into the blinker's side!

Is that water or what? It doesn't seem to want to go away. I reinstalled it correctly, and it didn't help. I also let the bulb out and hope that it aired out, but no go.

Why the hell did Nissan made it so hard to change the freakin' bulb!!!???

·
Bow to your SE GOD
4,702 Posts
Having a bulb-eating car, I am now an expert in bulb replacement.
If you move that black overflow hose out of the way, and turn your hand around so it's backwards, it makes a lot of room to move behind the housing. Try gently pulling the harness, to get the light out of the housing (after turning the collar, of course)
You could remove the bulb, leave the harness out of the housing and go for a drive, or use a hair dryer to blow warm (NOT hot) air in the housing to dry it out.

·
Registered
141 Posts
If nothing works, you can drill a small hole on the backside of your headlight housing. That will allow the condensed air out and no more fogging of the headlights. I really don't like doing that, but if all else fails...

·
Bow to your SE GOD
4,702 Posts
If you, or anyone you know has a hot tub, ask them if they have any O-ring lube.
Spread a bit of that stuff all over the O-ring on the bulb harness that sits against the rear of the housing.
It's not petroleum-based so it won't eat the O-ring, but it makes a perfect seal.
We used it in the hot tob biz, even dealing with wicked hot water and high pressures.

·
Car Noob
1,826 Posts
Discussion Starter #5