B15 Sentra Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered Loser
6,883 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new at this 5 spd business, so I had a question. What kind of maintenance do I have to do on the clutch, like at what miles, change what kind of fluids, have the dealership inspect it? Also, why is it that sometimes when I come to a stop, then go to 1st, it has a hard time engaging? I released the clutch two times, then finally it engaged. Sucks having traffic behind you waiting for me to get my **** straight.

------------------
Marvin
-2000 Sentra SE w/Performance Package, Sunroof, 5 Spd, Avalanche
Future mods:pR CAI, Stromung Cat-Back Exhaust System
-Previous Owner 1995 Sentra GXE, w/mods, Auto, Maroon

M

·
0 Posts
I have that problem too.
The clutch itself doesn't require much, if any maintenance. It is a dry clutch, so there aren't any fluids involved with it. I am pretty sure it is hydraulically operated too.

I believe a lot of the grinding is due to the transmission itself, not the clutch. That is why I am looking to switch to a synthetic fluid. I believe we will notice much smoother shifts. 1st gear seems to be the notchiest out of all of them. One good thing to remember is that if you can get the car to roll at all (in either direction) it will make it waaaay easier to get into gear without pushing the clutch in a bunch of times.

------------------
2001 SE
P/P, 5 spd.
Cloud White

MODS:
------
- Stromung Stainless Cat-back. (On The Way!!)
- Hotshot CAI (At The Coaters.)

·
Registered
841 Posts
Synthetic fluid? What is that for? Transmission fluid you mean? And if you guys think our sentra's with 1st gear engage is bad...just drive a civic si...it freakin' locks totally and won't let you get to 1st even if the car is doing 3 or 2 mph.

------------------
"ya nahmean?"
------------------
2k1 Sentra SE w/PP
Granite & Manual Trans.
20% Tinted Windows
Alpine CDA-7965 Unit
PPI PC6600 Amp
Cust. Built Box w/
3 JL 10w3 Subs
Cust. Short Shifter

Waamm!