B15 Sentra Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
623 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, fiberimages is getting ready to produce our hood. u guys can goto fiberimages.com and check out their strength test on their hoods! their hoods r lighter and more durable than any other carbonfiber hoods out there. the hoods will be 500$ and be ready in 2-3 weeks. so if anyone is interested, please reply to this post so i can get them to make the hood faster :)

·
Registered
169 Posts
those tests are not valid

I'm a ceramic engineer I took a grad level course last fall, as an undergrad, on carbon. we covered every thing from bucky-balls to carbon fiber applications. The professor works for the military as a materials consultant. She is world renound in the field.

What they have on their sites are not strength tests. I'd call them impact resistance. I you want strength tests you have to to a compression test like a frontal impact test. Carbon fiber can deflect in a similar way to metal. There are 2 main types of carbon fiber. Woven ($$$$) and pressed (similar to MDF) which is not as expensive.

If they use a woven carbon fiber, what you saw would cause internal strands to stretch at the carbon-carbon bond level. In addition strands were probably broken you just can't see them. If it was pressed, the resin/polymer that holds the pieces together allowed the deflection of the hood as you saw when the guy jumped on it.

what those viedos are is nothing more than cleaver marketing as I'd be willing to bet that there is a considerable amount of polymer in their products to hold them together.

doc

chinoworld said: