03 2.5 No Start - Nissan Sentra Forum - B15, B16 and B17 Sentra Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 16 Old 12-28-2008, 09:38 AM Thread Starter
Noggin
Just 35 more...
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Noggin
(Thread Starter)
03 2.5 No Start

Ok, here's the summary:

1. Parked car in garage Monday night. Tried to start car last night (Saturday) but it wouldn't start. Car turns over (it may be a bit weak, not 100% sure) but won't catch. Ended up pushing it out of the garage and putting my wife's car in there since it was full of Christmas stuff.

2. This morning, same thing. Turns over but won't catch. Figured it may be a weak battery, but I think if it turns over without trouble for 7 seconds it should be enough to get the car running. Regardless, I tried to jump it with my wife's car.

3. The fuel pump does run. I can hear it every time I put the key in the on position.

4. All fuses are good.

5. CAI is a bit dirty, but it shouldn't be bad enough to cause problems.

6. I had a new set of plugs so I just pulled the old ones with 75k on them and replaced them with the new ones. I also burned any remaining fuel in the cylinders with a long lighter (I thought I might have flooded the engine turning it over so many times).

The last time it acted like this, the ECU was gone. But then it threw about 3 dozen codes. Doesn't seem to be throwing any codes right now.

Leasing a car is looking better and better.
Noggin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 12-28-2008, 10:25 AM
Black B15
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
I always focus on a few things....fuel, spark, battery/alternator.

It sounds like it is turning over and it sounds like you are getting fuel. I would want to make sure you are getting spark. I know you said you changed plugs...but still.

You said you aren't throwing any codes which doesn't help. Could it be that Crank Position Sensor that the 2.5 guys are having a problem with?

I have a feeling one of the 2.5 guys will step in and offer a little more advice than I can.

2012 Nissan Rogue S Special Edition
Black B15 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 12-28-2008, 11:24 AM Thread Starter
Noggin
Just 35 more...
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Noggin
(Thread Starter)
Yeah, I tend to think the same way. A vehicle needs 3 things to run. Fuel, air, and fire. I had the battery tested and it was weak. It could only put out 300 amps but it is originally rated for 500. I replaced it, but it still won't start.

I'll start looking at crank position sensor and see what is said about it.

Just pisses me off that it was fine Monday morning, but wouldn't run last night. Simply failed after sitting garaged after less than a week.
Noggin is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 12-28-2008, 11:32 AM
adc100
Al, The Ignorant Fcuk
 
adc100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Elizabethtown, Pa
Posts: 9,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Spray some starting fluid on the air filter. If it doesn't at least run for a few seconds its a lack of spark.

I need to figure out a new signature.
adc100 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 12-28-2008, 11:57 AM
SkylineRacer13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My car did the same thing the other day except I was driving when it cut off, I went to autozone to have the ses light checked and they said it was the crankshaft postion sensor after about an hour my car started back up but I am going to fix it today
SkylineRacer13 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 12-28-2008, 12:06 PM Thread Starter
Noggin
Just 35 more...
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Noggin
(Thread Starter)
Yeah, after doing some reading I've decided to replace the crankshaft pos sensor to see if that helps anything. My wife is making lunch else I'd be out to autozone to buy one right now. For ****s and giggles I went outside to see if it would crank up. Engine turned over, then started running under its own power for about 2 seconds (no starting fluid) very roughly then stopped. So it seems that I am getting at least some fire.

I've about convinced myself to trade this car in on an F-150 because of the employee rebates. However, I know that just as soon as I get this car running again I'll change my mind and keep it though. I've been wanting a truck now for years.

I'm supposed to be on vacation right now. Damnit.
Noggin is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 12-28-2008, 01:57 PM
Black B15
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Well like you said....if it fired up you know it was (at least for that moment) getting spark.

I wonder how you could test that CPS sensor?

2012 Nissan Rogue S Special Edition
Black B15 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 12-28-2008, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Noggin
Just 35 more...
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Noggin
(Thread Starter)
I just replaced the crank shaft pos sensor, no improvement. I'm getting closer and closer to towing it in and trading it. I don't feel like ****ing with it.
Noggin is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 12-28-2008, 04:58 PM
adc100
Al, The Ignorant Fcuk
 
adc100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Elizabethtown, Pa
Posts: 9,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noggin
I don't feel like ****ing with it.
Yea and considering you are trying to be on vacation..this blows goats.

I need to figure out a new signature.
adc100 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 12-28-2008, 10:05 PM
amcknox10
Forward and up
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noggin

I've about convinced myself to trade this car in on an F-150

Do it!

"I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: if you f u c k with me, I'll kill you all." - General James N. Mattis, U.S. Marine Corps.
amcknox10 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 12-29-2008, 12:30 PM
pditty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: england
Posts: 6,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noggin
The last time it acted like this, the ECU was gone. But then it threw about 3 dozen codes. Doesn't seem to be throwing any codes right now.
I was going to say.... no start, but crank and no codes... cooked ecu. Especially if you can't get the ECU into diagnostic mode.

For the $20 the crank sensor costs, I'd do that and see.

Toyota MR2 Spyder (5 speed)
BMW 1 Series M Sport 5-door (6 speed)
pditty is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 12-29-2008, 01:04 PM Thread Starter
Noggin
Just 35 more...
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Noggin
(Thread Starter)
Ok I replaced the crankshaft PS and there was no change in behavior. Over my lunch break today, I pulled out the camshaft PS and stuck the old plastic crankshaft PS in its place. It was rough, but it started. It sounds drivable but I don't have time to test it out right now. The tach doesn't work either and now its throwing code 0335 (CKP/SEN CIRCUIT). Since thats the sensor that I replaced with a new one, I wonder if the wiring harness is faulty.

I may swing by autozone after work and grab the other metal can sensor.

I still don't want this POS any more though. However, now that it runs I can probably get not quite so *** raped on trade in.
Noggin is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 12-29-2008, 01:06 PM
pditty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: england
Posts: 6,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The rough running and no tach does sound like the crank sensor. Did you try resetting the ECU after you replaced it (not just pulling the battery cable)?

Toyota MR2 Spyder (5 speed)
BMW 1 Series M Sport 5-door (6 speed)
pditty is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 12-29-2008, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
Noggin
Just 35 more...
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Noggin
(Thread Starter)
Nope, haven't tried that. I'll go give it a shot right now (if I can figure out how to reset it). Do you mean just clearing the codes?

Just did the pedal dance to clear the code. Not any better. Gonna drive it to a Nissan dealership tonight to see what I can get on trade in for a Frontier SE-V6 they have on the lot.

Last edited by Noggin; 12-29-2008 at 05:39 PM.
Noggin is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 12-29-2008, 08:12 PM
pditty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: england
Posts: 6,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yah, just clear the codes. On the 2.5s you can do this with a combo of the gas pedal, but it's not especially easy to get right. Search SES reset etc.

Could also get a code reader at the auto parts store.

Toyota MR2 Spyder (5 speed)
BMW 1 Series M Sport 5-door (6 speed)
pditty is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome