Dash lights not working, voltage on dimmer switch? - B15sentra.net - Nissan Sentra Forum
User Tag List

 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
#1 Old 01-04-2009, 02:29 PM
bronigs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Dash lights not working, voltage on dimmer switch?

Hey

So I was installing a new audio headunit in my 2003 Sentra, I couldn't find a wiring harness so I cut mine, and when I cut it the illumination wire touched a ground the lights in the car went on for a second and turned off. I thought nothing of it and finished my install of the headunit. Then a few hours later I went to drive the car and the illumintaion didnt work. I think the dimmer switch is burn't (I checked all the fuses and all are ok). But now on the dimmer switch there are three wires, the yellow/red has 12v when the lights are on, the green/red has 12v when the light are on and the black is ground. It doesn't make sense to me that both wires have voltage, is this right can anyone verify. Also the dimmer switch has resistance in it but it doesn't change when the knob is moved.
bronigs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 01-05-2009, 08:39 PM
bronigs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
figured it out. It was the dimmer switch.

I found an easy fix was to short the red/yellow to the black, now lights work on the dash.
bronigs is offline  
#3 Old 01-05-2009, 09:32 PM
JP
Infamous
 
JP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: schaumburg
Posts: 5,842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Garage
Send a message via AIM to JP
I think I have a dimmer switch laying around. Brand new in box. If your interested I can sell it cheaper then you would buy it from a dealer.
JP is offline  
#4 Old 01-05-2009, 10:08 PM
JP
Infamous
 
JP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: schaumburg
Posts: 5,842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Garage
Send a message via AIM to JP
I am pretty sure I had it, but after a quick look in the garage I don't see it. It's cold out and I'm not going to search to much for yet. I will look again when it's a little warmer.
JP is offline  
#5 Old 01-05-2009, 10:54 PM
Principle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Lee, NJ
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Principle
Fuse?

Founder of QG18DE.NET
http://www.qg18de.net/
Principle is offline  
#6 Old 01-05-2009, 11:26 PM
JP
Infamous
 
JP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: schaumburg
Posts: 5,842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Garage
Send a message via AIM to JP
dimmer switch!
JP is offline  
#7 Old 01-06-2009, 08:39 AM
melly mel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to melly mel
Installing aftermarket stereo.

Step 1. Disconnect negative battery terminal.
Step 2. Make sure you do step one.
etc.


2003 Sentra Spec V - GONE
:Nismo CAI:SSA Header:T-Pros Midpipe:Custom 2.5" CBE:JWT Cams:Axxion STS w/ Centering Adaptor:UR Pulley:SAFCII tuned w/ ZT2 Wideband:ES MMI's:Tein S-Techs:4PT LTB:Seibon CF Hood:Bronze Rota Subzeros:iRotor D/S Rotors:TechnaFit Brake and Clutch Lines:NX 75 Shot:
melly mel is offline  
#8 Old 01-06-2009, 02:09 PM
bronigs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
melly mel I agree with you just tried to do it too fast, I've installed probably around 20 systems and never had a problem. I always disconnect the positive terminal (negative works too). Installing stuff fast isn't always the best.

I know its definitely the dimmer switch as a lot of accessories are attached to the fuse that lights up the dash lights, such as the trunk, windows, etc... Also I check all my fuses and there all good. I don't know an easy way to check relay's so I didn't check any.

JP check your PM's.
bronigs is offline  
#9 Old 09-06-2011, 09:32 AM
mre1208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
woohoo! digging up a very old thread....I had the wonderful problem of no dash lights, and upon reading this, I pulled out the unit and tried the method of putting the wires to the black, and it worked...so i went to actually place it where i keep the wire permanently and the whole unit stops working before i even get there...i've rewired all the power perfectly, undid the dash lights to see if that would fix it, the fuse(s) are fine...i have NO clue?!?!?!?! wtf?
mre1208 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome