How do I measure the battery Cold Cranking Amp? [Archive] - B15sentra.net - Nissan Sentra Forum

: How do I measure the battery Cold Cranking Amp?


razz
06-09-2005, 12:25 AM
I bought a $3 multimeter from harborfreight.com along with a brake bleeder kit and I've been playing with the multimeter. The battery had 12.6V when the engine was off and when I tried to measure the current, the fuse on the multimeter blew... do I need a more expensive multimeter or something?

spec-v-guy
06-09-2005, 01:04 AM
Why not just look on top of the battery?? Most of them are on the nomanclature plate...

And most multimeters won't read more than 600v and usually no more than 200 amps

Spec'd
06-09-2005, 01:42 AM
When your measuring for current, it must be in series with the battery and
battery cable.

adc100
06-09-2005, 05:47 AM
Even if you measue it, what good is it. It has no relation to CCA listed on the battery.

zerosin
06-09-2005, 07:03 AM
My DMM only measures up to 10 Amps which is protected by a fuse. I tried measuring the amperage of a 9.6V RC car NiCd battery pack and it blew the fuse. I would imagine my car battery of 700 CCA would blow, if not melt, my DMM. :D A device pulls amps, they are not forced into a device. If the device doesn't say stop at some point, you better hope that the source of current is less than the device can handle.

lawngn0mex
06-09-2005, 07:16 AM
Even if you measured the amperage off the battery, it has no true relation to the amount it can put out because it will only put out what the load on the amp (starter, stereo, ect) wants / needs.

Just go by what the plate says.

zerosin
06-09-2005, 07:18 AM
Even if you measured the amperage off the battery, it has no true relation to the amount it can put out because it will only put out what the load on the amp (starter, stereo, ect) wants / needs.

Just go by what the plate says.

Exactly. There are devices that simulate this load though, the plate will tell what the battery is new, but it will loose cranking power over time. Most auto shops will have a battery testing device.

evangelos K
06-09-2005, 10:45 AM
Why not just look on top of the battery?? Most of them are on the nomanclature plate...

And most multimeters won't read more than 600v and usually no more than 200 amps

200A? I would like to see a multimeter reading more than 10A.

Spec'd
06-09-2005, 12:06 PM
Even if you measue it, what good is it. It has no relation to CCA listed on the battery.

True, Some major autopart store chains will let you test your
battery for free.

Lil-j
06-09-2005, 12:54 PM
just go to autozone, they bring out the machine and test right on spot, they put a load on it and all

cpowers
06-09-2005, 01:20 PM
Ok, so a 3 dollar multimeter wont measure more than probably 5 amps of amperage

also, you cannot test amperage by putting touching the battery

if you ohmed out a ammeter then it would say its a closed circuit

you have to wire the ammeter in series ex battery _ to ground battery + to meter

Meter to battery cable

all the power has to go through the meter

obviously your starter would take Much MUCH more than 5 amps, some as much as 200 amps!!
and then your fuse blows

if you want to see how good your battery is, you can test the voltage while starting your car, see how low it goes

Good Luck
Chris

phat v
06-09-2005, 03:57 PM
you need a vat 40 or 45 to do that test. the test is done by disabling the ignition, any way to make the car crank and not start. the vat will read this cca output. its a fast test, cranking should only be done for 15 seconds or less.

cpowers
06-09-2005, 04:29 PM
in town advance auto has a hella battery tester, thing kicks ***

it takes about 10 minutes to do a full recharge test, but it works

Chris

spec-v-guy
06-09-2005, 07:03 PM
200A? I would like to see a multimeter reading more than 10A.

Most HVAC (A/C and refrigeration) meters will read up to 200A.. However Fieldpiece makes some that go to 300A...

This is one that I use, most of the stuff I work with has operating amps of 15-45 amps..

http://www.fieldpiece.com/images/SC66.jpg

EverlastGobstop
06-10-2005, 12:55 AM
The $1000 to $5000 multimeters I use max out at around 1 to 3 amps